Ghana’s Regan defends reputation of Serbian football

Ghana’s Regan defends reputation of Serbian football

Despite a warning to all foreigners who want to play in Serbia, the Ghanaian youngster insists the situation is not that bad

Ghana midfielder Obeng Regan has defended Serbian football after the FIFPro official website sent a warning a few weeks ago to all foreign players about their career in Serbia.

According to FIFPro, several clubs in Serbia cannot pay players hence footballers should be wary of agents who lure them to the European country.

Regan, who went to Serbia in 2012 from Ghana giants Asante Kotoko and has carved a niche for himself as one of the best foreign players there, has denounced the claims.

“I chose Serbia on the recommendation of coaches with whom I worked in Ghana and I was not wrong. I grew up in a poor country, I know how to survive with or without money. Nowhere in Serbia have I been cheated,” the 20-year-old told Sportske.

He added: “I was not deceived. In Cacak, I came to high school here and lived through the period of education and maturation, in Napredak Krusevac they gave what they promised and Cukaricki where I am also.

“I would particularly refer to my current club Cukaricki, where everything is at a professional level. I know there are a lot of troubles in Serbia, but they are exemplary people. I play wholeheartedly here and nothing is wrong.”

source:goal.com

